3.7.19 School Board and Distinguished Educator Banquet

March 7, 2019 – 71st Annual Banquet

Come and celebrate the successes of educators and School Boards in our region!

Edgewood Country Club
100 Churchill Rd.
Pittsburgh, PA 15235

5:30 p.m. – Cocktails and Hors d’oeuvres & Entertainment
6:30 p.m. – Dinner & Award Presentations

D. Richard Wynn Distinguished School Board Award and the Distinguished Educator Award

Distinguished Educator Award Recipient:

Dr. Heidi Ondek, Superintendent and Executive Director, Western Pennsylvania School for Blind Children

 D Richard Wynn School Board Award Recipients:

Elizabeth Forward School District School Board
Hampton Township Area School District School Board

Click here to register online

Please RSVP no later than February 25th.
(Click here to access PDF registration form)

REGISTRATION CANCELLATION NOTICE: The organization listed on registration will be billed for all listed registrants, regardless of attendance, unless we receive a cancellation notice at least THREE business days prior to the workshop. Thank you for your understanding.

Nominate for the D. Richard Wynn Distinguished School Board Award and the Distinguished Educator Award

Click below to access each nomination form.  All nominating materials should be submitted (by mail or email) to:
Dr. Diane Kirk
c/o Tri-State Area School Study Council
5522 Wesley W. Posvar Hall
230 South Bouquet Street
Pittsburgh, PA 15260

2019 D. Richard Wynn Distinguished School Board Award Nomination Form

2019 Distinguished Educator Award Nomination Form

*DEADLINE EXTENDED! All nominations must be received in the Tri-State Office by the end of the day on January 20th January 28th, 2019 (by 11:59pm)It is recommended to email the nominations, due to the unpredictable nature of mail delivery.

 Richard Wynn Distinguished School Board Award

The D. Richard Wynn Award was commissioned by the Executive Committee during the 1988-1989 school year to symbolize the contributions of Dr. D. Richard Wynn.  Dr. Wynn was the Executive Secretary of Tri-State from 1974 to 1980, and during his tenure, he promoted the idea that decision making by the School Board and administrators should move from conflict to compromise.  His idea was frequently referred to as the “win-win” process as he believed that students would be the true beneficiaries of this tactic.

In order to be considered for the award, school organizations must demonstrate exemplary practices by school boards and school district personnel in addressing important issues—issues that reflect directly on improved schooling for students—over at least a two-year period.  Please note that the issues faced by the organization need not be conflict-free, rather the issues should indicate effective problem-solving processes.

Distinguished Educator Award

The Executive Committee established the Distinguished Educator Award in 1981 to acknowledge exceptional leadership by practicing administrators, retired educators, and university faculty who have proven a commitment to the mission of Tri-State.  Nominees should have made contributions to education in one or more of the following ways: by contributing to Tri-State’s goals and objectives; by providing leadership to professional organizations, school, and community activities; and/or by making contributions to educational research or publications.

2017-2018 Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2017-2018  Award Recipients.  From left to right, Dr. Robert Scherrer, Superintendent, North Allegheny School District,  Dr. Brian White, Superintendent, Butler Area School District,  and Dr. Jerri Lippert, Superintendent, West Allegheny School District.

award winners 2018

D. Richard Wynn Distinguished School Board Awards:
North Allegheny School District Board of Directors
West Allegheny School District Board of Directors

Distinguished Educator Award:
Dr. Brian White, Superintendent, Butler Area School District

Brian White and Diane Kirk

2018 Distinguished Educator award recipient, Dr. Brian White, and Director of Tri-State, Dr. Diane Kirk, pose for a picture.


Previous Destinguished Educator Award Winners (PDF)

DE Awards Final 4.5
Previous Distinguished Educator award recipients in attendance at the 2018 Banquet.



University of Pittsburgh